2014 Golden Decade Scholarship


Members of the Golden Decade Foundation recognize the importance of a college education as the springboard for developing lifelong social, personal and professional relationships. We have all benefited from the experience. Established to assist African American students in attending a college of their choice, the Golden Decade Scholarship grants financial awards to successful applicants who demonstrate commitment to higher education and personal growth for continuation of the legacy of service to their community.

(3)Scholarship Award Categories:

Graduate Award Level
Upperclassmen Award Level (sophomore, juniors and seniors)
Freshman Award Level

Essay Topic:

What are your goals for your future? How do you plan on getting there? Why have you chosen this path?


Essay must be 600 words in length.

  • Full name, address, phone number and e-mail address
  • College or university attending, classification year and major/minor
  • Name of the sponsoring Golden Decade Foundation member-in-good standing
  • Documented proof of GPA eligibility

Who's Eligible:

Son or daughter, grandchild, niece or nephew, and/or a sponsored child of an active Golden Decade Foundation member who has paid their annual dues for the current year.

A student attending an accredited undergraduate or graduate college or university who has a minimum 2.5 GPA.


TBA for 2014. Mail, fax or e-mail as a PDF file to:

Ms. Robin Barlow Jones
3140 61st Avenue
Oakland, CA 94605
(510) 638-5764
Email: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

Feel free to contact us for questions.


Submitted essays will be read by a panel of three. The essay will be scored on a 100-point basis, with a maximum of 50 percent awarded for content and a maximum of 50 percent awarded for quality of writing. Quality of writing includes sentence structure, format, grammar, and punctuation.

Scored and awarded date TBA. Winners will be announced by email.

Students can only receive this award once.

View 2014 Scholarship Donation Form

(until forms are updated please know that your donation is applied to 2014)